Home News NACTOY releases finalists for Car, Utility and Truck of the Year

NACTOY releases finalists for Car, Utility and Truck of the Year


NACTOY names finalists for Car, Utility and Truck of the Year honors


Our thoughts begin with – where is the Jeep Wrangler?

The finalists for the prestigious 2019 North American Car, Utility and Truck of the Year (NACTOY) award were announced this week at the Los Angeles Auto Show. 

NACTOY jurors’ selections for “North American Car of the Year,” “North American Utility of the Year,” and “North American Truck of the Year” are:

The Finalists – 2019 NACTOY Awards 

   Car of the Year

   Utility of the Year

   Truck of the Year

   Genesis G70

   Acura RDX

   Chevrolet Silverado 1500

   Honda Insight

   Hyundai Kona / Kona EV

   GMC Sierra 1500

   Volvo S60/V60

   Jaguar I-Pace

    Ram 1500


NACTOY Car of the Year
Car of the Year 

“This year brought us some impressive sedan options,” said NACTOY President Lauren Fix. “Car sales remain an important part of the available choices to consumers even as sales in the segment continue to fall.”

Noting the car finalists, Fix added, “We are always looking for a game-changer, something that stands out in a crowd, and strikes a positive chord with buyers. The finalists will all be impressive options to consider.”

We agree that all are impressive and making the choice will be challenging.  Our favorite is the Genesis G70.  Already named the – also prestigious – 2019 Motor Trend Car of the Year honor this week, we think it is hard to beat. 

As we noted in our story on the Motor Trend award – the Genesis brand is just two years old with the G70 just arriving this fall.  To have stepped out front of some well-established brands so quickly to garner the Motor Trend honor, speaks well of its chances to be the NACTOY Car of the Year.


Utility of the Year

We will be right up front with you.  No slight to our friends at Acura, Hyundai and Jaguar, but where in the heck is the 2019 Jeep Wrangler?

“The utility class is the most hotly contested of our categories,” said NACTOY Secretary-Treasurer Kirk Bell. “Contenders range from game-changing electrics to mainstream brands that have upped their game to luxury brands that are pushing the envelope”.

Noting Bell’s remarks, I am perplexed that the NACTOY jurors considered their selected finalists as having “upped their game” and “pushed the envelope” more than the 2019 Jeep Wrangler. 

What didn’t they see that Motor Trend judges did as they named the Jeep Wrangler their 2019 SUV of the Year?  In support of my position, I refer readers to the Motor Trend release on why they selected the Jeep Wrangler.  ( https://www.motortrend.com/news/jeep-wrangler-2019-suv-of-the-year/ )

In any case, it is what it is.   Our favorite among the finalists would be the Jaguar I-Pace for NACTOY Utility of the Year.


NACTOY Utility of the Year
NACTOY Truck of the Year
Truck of the Year

There were only three nominees on the eligibility list for the 2019 North American Truck of The Year.

But that lack of candidates doesn’t diminish the category’s importance, says NACTOY.

“Full-size trucks are the financial engines that power the auto industry, and this year, we’re fortunate to have three great new ones to consider,” said NACTOY Vice President Chris Paukert. “From a new mild hybrid system to a carbon fiber bed and a Swiss Army knife-like tailgate, this year’s truck crop is packed with customer-friendly innovations.”

The General Motors truck brands definitely got back into the hunt for 2019 with their significantly improved Chevrolet Silverado 1500 and GMC Sierra 1500 offerings.  Both demonstrated more capability, improved technology and some innovative new features like – what some call – the Swiss Army Knife of tailgates on the Sierra.

However, despite that effort, the Ram 1500 has both raised the bar and pushed the envelope further in every direction for 2019.  We like the 2019 Ram 1500 for NACTOY Truck of the Year.


Winners of the NACTOY awards will be announced at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit on January 14, 2019. 

Now in their 25th year, the awards are unique because — instead of being given by a single publication, website, radio or television station — they are selected by a jury of automotive 54 journalists from the United States and Canada.


Previous articleAccessorizing the 2020 Jeep Gladiator
Next articleHonda Passport returns to the light truck lineup